El-Rufai thanks Kaduna people after re-election
Malam Nasir El-Rufai has thanked the people of Kaduna state, after he was announced Monday as the winner of the governorship election that took place on 9 March.

Alhamdulillah! We campaigned vigorously on our record and continuously prayed for God to choose the best leader for Kaduna State even if that choice is someone else!! God has decided. We are grateful to over 1 million Kaduna voters through whom He made us the choice, he wrote on his Twitter handle.

Announcing the result on Monday in Kaduna, the State Returning Officer, Prof. Muhammed Yahuza Bello said, El-Rufai, the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, scored 1,045,427 votes to emerge winner.

He said the candidate, Alhaji Isah Ashiru of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored 814,168 votes

Bello said Malam Nasiru El-Rufai haven fulfilled all the requirements of the law, and scored the highest votes is hereby declared winner of the Kaduna State governorship election.

Bello said the APC won in 14 LGs while the PDP won in nine LGs that make up 23 LGs in the State.

According to him, the APC won in Ikara,Kubau,Makarfi, Kudan , Giwa, Kauru and Soba local government areas.

The APC also won in Lere, Birnin Gwari, Kaduna North and Sabon Gari, Igabi, Kaduna South, Zaria LGs.

While the opposition PDP won in nine local government areas, including Kajuru,Kaura, Jaba, Kachia, Zango Kataf, Sanga, Kagarko, Jemaa and Chikun LGAs.

The results are as follows:

1.Ikara Local government



2.Kubau Local government



3.Kajuru Local government



4.Kaura Local government:



5.Makarfi local government:



6.Jaba Local government:



7.Kudan Local government:



8.Giwa Local government



9.Kauru Local government



10.Kachia Local government



  1. Soba Local government



12.Sanga Local Government
APC 20,806
PDP 21,226

  1. Zango Kataf Local Government
    APC 13,448
    PDP 87,546
    14 Kaduna North Local Government
    APC 97,243
    PDP 27,665
    15.Birnin Gwari Local Government
    APC 32,292
    PDP 16,901
    16.Chikun Local Government
    APC 24, 262
    PDP 86, 251
    17.Sabon Gari Local Government
    APC 57,655
    PDP 25,519
    18.Lere Local Government
    APC 71,056
    PDP 45,215
  2. Jemaa Local Government
    APC 21,265
    PDP 63,129
  3. Kagarko Local government
    APC 21,982
    PDP 26,643
    21.Kaduna South Local government
    APC 102,612
    PDP 31, 429
    22.Igabi Local government
    APC 102,035
    PDP 37, 948
    23.Zaria Local government
    APC 111,014
    PDP 35,356

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that 38 political parties fielded candidates the Kaduna State Governorship poll.

NAN reports that the ruling APC, the PDP, PRP, SDP and APGA were most prominent among the Political Parties participated in the March 9poll in the state.

Source: NAN